Next due
7 OCTTDS / TCS deposit · Deducted in Sep 2026in 4 days 11 OCTGSTR-1 · Outward supplies · Sep 2026in 8 days 15 OCTPF & ESI · Contributions · Sep 2026in 12 days 20 OCTGSTR-3B · Summary return · Sep 2026in 17 days 30 OCTAOC-4 · Financial statements · FY 2025-26in 27 days 31 OCTITR filing · Audit cases · AY 2026-27in 28 days 29 NOVMGT-7 / 7A · Annual return · FY 2025-26in 57 days 15 DECAdvance Tax · 3rd (75%) instalment · FY 2026-27in 73 days
All due dates

Rules 7 and 8 of the Apprenticeship Rules, 1992: period of training, extension and compensation

Rule 7 gives the period of training by reference to Schedules I and I-B for trade apprentices, one year for engineering graduates, diploma holders and vocational certificate...

Published
Updated
Reading time
9 min
Views
3
Questions
6 answered
  • Expert Reviewed
  • High Complexity
  • In-Depth Guide
Topic
Labour Laws
Published
October 2, 2026
Last updated
Oct 3, 2026
Reading time
9 min
0:00
Last updated: October 2026Verified against: Government sources

Rule 7 of the Apprenticeship Rules, 1992 fixes the period of apprenticeship training for each class of apprentice, provides for extension, probation, breaks and strikes, lockouts and layoffs. Rule 8 says what an employer pays when a contract is terminated through the employer's failure. If you need help applying them to a live engagement, our employment and labour law advisory team can assist.

This article is based on the consolidated copy of the Rules consulted (latest amendment marked: 20 January 2017). The Rules are amended often, so check the current Rules before relying on it. The numbering inside rule 7 is irregular in the copy: it has two sub-rules marked "(2)", then "3A(1)*", "(2)", "(3)" and "(4)(a)" to "(d)". We explain the rule as printed.

Rule 7: the period of training (section 6)

Section 6 of the Act says the period of training is specified in the contract and is "such as may be prescribed" for each class. Rule 7 fills it; see our article on sections 6-8.

Sub-rule (as printed)WhoWhat it says
(1)Trade apprentices in section 6(a), (aa) and (b)Period as specified in Schedule I
(1A)Trade apprentices in section 6(aa)Period as specified in Schedule I-B
(4)(a)Engineering graduates, diploma holders, vocational certificate holdersOne year
(4)(b)Sandwich course studentsThe period of practical training they undergo as part of the course is the period of apprenticeship training

Schedules I and I-B

Schedule I (see rule 3(1) and rule 7(1)) lists designated trades with a column for the period of apprenticeship training and a column for the rebate allowed. In the first row, as printed in the copy of the Rules consulted (latest amendment marked: 20 January 2017), the Fitter trade shows "Two years" and a rebate of "One year". Schedule I is not reproduced here. Schedule I-B (see rule 7(1A)) is a table with columns for the Board, State Council or authority (or scheme) concerned, the trade, course or subject field, its duration, the designated trade or trades in the category of trade apprentices, the period of apprenticeship training, and the period after rebate. For example, the first row shows a one-year interior decorator course leading to designated trades such as Architectural Assistant, with a period of two years and a period after rebate of "One year and six months", as printed. These are figures from a dated copy; check the current Rules and Schedules.

Extension: sub-rule (2)(a) and (2)(b)

Illness or circumstances beyond control (sub-rule (2)(a)). Where a trade apprentice is unable to complete the full apprenticeship course within the periods in sub-rule (1), or to take the final test, owing to illness or other circumstances beyond his control, the establishment shall extend the period of apprenticeship until he completes the course and the next test is held, if so required by the Apprenticeship Adviser. A similar extension may be allowed for those who, having completed the course, fail the final test. A trade apprentice who fails the second test shall not be allowed any extension.

Strike, lockout or layoff (sub-rule (2)(b)(i) and (ii)). Where a trade apprentice cannot complete the period due to a strike, lockout or layoff in the establishment, and is not instrumental in it, the period is extended for a period equal to the strike, lockout or layoff, and he is paid stipend during that period or for a maximum period of six months, whichever is less. If the strike, lockout or layoff is likely to continue longer, the employer follows the procedure for novation with another employer as specified in section 5 of the Act; see our article on section 5.

Probation: the second sub-rule "(2)"

In the case of trade apprentices other than those covered by clause (a) of section 6 of the Act, the first six months of the period of training are treated as a period of probation. The second sub-rule marked "(2)" in the copy carries this. The text does not say what follows if the probation is not completed satisfactorily, and we state nothing beyond the words.

Flexibility and breaks: "3A(1)" to "(3)"

The copy prints "3A(1)*" and then "(2)" and "(3)". Read as printed:

  • (1) Keeping in view seasonality in operation or business or flexibility desired by the trade apprentice, a trade apprentice may complete his period of apprenticeship training within five years or double the duration of apprenticeship training, whichever is less, from the date of starting.
  • (2) The flexibility is permissible as follows: a maximum of one break for trades having duration two years or less than two years; a maximum of two breaks for trades having duration more than two years.
  • (3) The start and end date of the apprenticeship training shall be reported on the portal-site by the employer.

These periods and numbers are as printed in the copy consulted and are not stated as current. The mark "*" after "3A(1)" has no matching footnote visible in the copy, so we attribute this passage to no notification.

Graduates, technicians and vocational apprentices: "(4)(c)" and "(d)"

Where a graduate, technician or technician (vocational) apprentice is unable to complete the period due to a strike, lockout or layoff in the establishment, not being instrumental in it, the period is extended equal to the strike, lockout or layoff and the apprentice is paid stipend during that period or for a maximum of six months, whichever is less (clause (c)). If it is likely to continue longer, the employer follows the novation procedure (clause (d)).

Rule 8: compensation for termination (section 7)

Rule 8 (printed "8*", marked in the copy as substituted vide G.S.R. 404 of 25 November 1997) is headed "Compensation for termination of apprenticeship". Where the contract of apprenticeship is terminated through failure on the part of any employer in carrying out its terms and conditions, the employer is liable to pay the apprentice compensation of an amount equivalent to his three months' last drawn stipend. This is as printed in the copy of the Rules consulted (latest amendment marked: 20 January 2017), and is not stated as the current rule.

Rule 8 fills the words "such compensation as may be prescribed" in the proviso to section 7. The refund of the cost of training by an apprentice at fault is not fixed by any rule in the sources; section 7 leaves it to the Apprenticeship Adviser. The four Labour Codes are in force from 21 November 2025; check the current position before relying on any other labour law.

An example

Evergreen Packaging has a trade apprentice, Suman, in a trade with a two-year period under the relevant row of Schedule I. A lockout lasting two months interrupts her training through no fault of her own. Under rule 7(2)(b)(i), her period is extended by two months and Evergreen continues to pay stipend during the lockout, as the rule says, for up to six months. Separately, Evergreen's contract with another apprentice, Ketan, ends by an order of the Apprenticeship Adviser because Evergreen failed to carry out the contract. Rule 8, as printed, makes Evergreen liable to compensation equal to three months of Ketan's last drawn stipend.

Need help with training periods and terminations?

Counting periods, breaks and extensions accurately protects both employer and apprentice. Our employment and labour law advisory service can help you build a tracker and a termination checklist.

Key takeaways

  • Rule 7 fixes the period by reference to Schedules I and I-B for trade apprentices, and by sub-rule (4) for the other classes.
  • Extension is possible for illness, circumstances beyond control, a failed first test, and strike, lockout or layoff.
  • A probation of six months applies to trade apprentices other than those covered by section 6(a).
  • Completion within five years or double the duration, whichever is less, with one or two breaks, as printed in the copy consulted.
  • Rule 8 provides compensation equal to three months' last drawn stipend, as printed in the copy consulted.

Read next

Disclaimer: Based on a consolidated text of the Apprentices Act, 1961 amended up to Act 29 of 2014, on the Gazette of India copy of the Apprentices (Amendment) Act, 2014, and on a consolidated copy of the Apprenticeship Rules, 1992 in which the latest amendment marked is dated 20 January 2017, as consulted on 2 October 2026. Stipend rates and other figures are as printed in those texts and may have been revised; later amendments and the position under the Labour Codes in force from 21 November 2025 should be checked. This article is general information, not legal advice; check the official text before acting.

Quick recapKey facts & short answers

Key Facts About Rules 7 and 8

  • Applies in: All states across India, under the relevant central law.
  • Mode: Mostly online via the official government portal.
  • Typical timeline: Ranges from a few days to a few weeks depending on the case.
  • Non-compliance: May attract penalties, interest or late fees.
  • Expert help: TaxClue completes the entire process end to end for you.

Where is the period of training for a trade apprentice?

In Schedule I (and Schedule I-B for section 6(aa) apprentices), under rule 7(1) and (1A).

How long is the period for a graduate or diploma holder?

As printed in the copy of the Rules consulted (latest amendment marked: 20 January 2017), rule 7(4)(a) says one year for engineering graduates, diploma holders and vocational certificate holders.

What is not written down will be remembered differently by everyone involved.

— TaxClue Compliance Desk

Rules 7 and 8: a key compliance topic in Indian tax and corporate law that businesses and individuals must understand to remain compliant.

Related Services & Guides

Was this article helpful?
About the author
12,191 articles
Vikas Sharma Verified expert Tax & Compliance Expert

Experienced in company registration, GST, trademark, and compliance. Helping Indian businesses stay compliant.

Last reviewed: Live

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute professional tax, legal or financial advice. Laws, rates and due dates change and can vary by individual case — always verify with the relevant government source (e.g. mca.gov.in, incometax.gov.in) or consult a qualified professional before acting. TaxClue accepts no liability for decisions taken based on this content.

People also ask

Questions, answered

Short, direct answers to the 6 questions readers ask most on this topic.

In Schedule I (and Schedule I-B for section 6(aa) apprentices), under rule 7(1) and (1A).

As printed in the copy of the Rules consulted (latest amendment marked: 20 January 2017), rule 7(4)(a) says one year for engineering graduates, diploma holders and vocational certificate holders.

A similar extension may be allowed; a trade apprentice who fails the second test shall not be allowed any extension (rule 7(2)(a)).

The period is extended by an equal period, with stipend for that period or for a maximum of six months, whichever is less, as printed.

As printed, one break for trades of two years or less, and two breaks for trades of more than two years, within five years or double the duration, whichever is less.

As printed in the copy consulted, an amount equivalent to the apprentice's three months' last drawn stipend, where termination is due to the employer's failure.