Next dueIncome Tax
21 OCTTax Audit Report · Form 3CA/3CB · AY 2026-27 · extended from 30 Sepin 13 days 7 NOVTDS / TCS deposit · Deducted in Oct 2026in 30 days 21 NOVITR filing · Audit cases · AY 2026-27 · extended from 31 Octin 44 days 15 DECAdvance Tax · 3rd (75%) instalment · FY 2026-27in 68 days 31 DECBelated / revised ITR · AY 2026-27in 84 days 11 OCTGSTR-1 · Outward supplies · Sep 2026in 3 days 15 OCTPF & ESI · Contributions · Sep 2026in 7 days 20 OCTGSTR-3B · Summary return · Sep 2026in 12 days
All due dates
Income Tax Live

Sections 203-204 of the Income-tax Act, 2025: Tax on resident co-operative societies and new manufacturing co-operatives

A resident co-operative society may opt for tax at 22% on total income computed without Chapter VIII deductions (other than sections 146 and 150) and without the section 205(1)...

Published
Updated
Reading time
10 min
Views
15
Questions
6 answered
  • Expert Reviewed
  • High Complexity
  • In-Depth Guide
Topic
Income Tax
Published
October 2, 2026
Last updated
Oct 7, 2026
Reading time
10 min
0:00
Last updated: October 2026Applies to: FY 2026-27 (AY 2027-28)Verified against: Government sources

Sections 203 and 204 give a resident co-operative society an optional lower rate of tax: 22% on total income under section 203, or, for a new manufacturing co-operative society, 15% on the main part of its income under section 204. Both are tied to computing income without a list of deductions and to a bar on withdrawing the option. This article reads them as per the Income-tax Act, 2025 (30 of 2025) as amended by the Finance Act, 2026.

Scope and the amendments by the Finance Act, 2026

Both sections are in Chapter XIII, Part C. Section 203 was amended by section 57 of the Finance Act, 2026 and section 204 by section 58, each with effect from 1 April 2026: the words "or 150" were inserted in the lists of deductions that remain available (section 203(1)(a)(i) and section 204(3)(a)(i)), and new sub-sections were inserted (section 203(7) and section 204(5)). The Act came into force on the 1st April, 2026 (section 1(3)). The rates are those printed in the sections; later amendments, rules and notifications should be checked.

The conditions common to both are in section 205. The regime for individuals is in section 202. For the Chapter overview, see Chapter XIII of the Income-tax Act, 2025. If your society is choosing between regimes, our tax planning advisory team can help.

Section 203: resident co-operative societies at 22%

Section 203(1): the option

Irrespective of anything contained in the Act, but subject to Parts A, B, E and Part C (other than section 204), the income-tax payable for a tax year is at the rate of 22%, at the option of a co-operative society resident in India, on its total income computed:

  • (a) without any deduction under (i) Chapter VIII other than the provisions of section 146 or 150; or (ii) the sections specified in section 205(1)(a) to (g); and
  • (b) without set off of any loss carried forward or depreciation from any earlier tax year, if the loss or depreciation is attributable to any of the deductions referred to in clause (a).

The words "or 150" were inserted by the Finance Act, 2026. Section 146 is the additional employee cost deduction and section 150 the federal co-operative dividend deduction; see our articles on section 146 and sections 148 to 150.

Section 203(2) and (3)

If the society fails to satisfy the requirements in sub-section (1) in any tax year, the option becomes invalid for that year and subsequent years, and the other provisions of the Act apply as if the option had not been exercised. The loss and depreciation in sub-section (1)(b) are deemed to have been given full effect, and no further deduction is allowed in any subsequent tax year.

Section 203(4): units in an International Financial Services Centre

Where a person has a Unit in the International Financial Services Centre and has exercised the option, the requirements in sub-section (1) are modified to the extent that the deduction under section 147 is available to that Unit, subject to the conditions of that section. The sub-section refers to an option "under sub-section (5)". See our article on section 147.

Section 203(5) and (6)

The section does not apply unless the option is exercised in the prescribed manner on or before the due date under section 263(1) for furnishing the return of income, and the option once exercised applies to subsequent tax years. Once exercised for any tax year, it is not subsequently withdrawn for the same or any other tax year.

Section 203(7): dividend deduction (inserted by the Finance Act, 2026)

In the case of a co-operative society that has exercised the option under sub-section (5), the requirements in sub-section (1) are modified to the extent that the deduction under section 149(2)(d)(ii) is available to the society, as does not exceed the amount of dividend distributed by it to its members at least one month before the due date for filing the return under section 263(1). Section 149(2)(d)(ii) is the deduction for dividends from investments with another co-operative society.

Section 204: new manufacturing co-operative societies

Section 204(1) and the Table

Subject to Parts A, B, E and Part C (other than section 203), the income-tax payable on the total income of a resident co-operative society engaged in the business of manufacture or production of any article or thing is, at its option, computed at the rates in column A of the Table, if the conditions in column B are fulfilled.

Column A: total income and rate of taxColumn B: conditions
(a) 15% on the total income other than the income mentioned in (b), (c) and (d)The co-operative society (a) exercises the option as provided in sub-section (2); (b) has been set up and registered on or after the 1st April, 2023; (c) has commenced manufacturing or production of an article or thing on or before the 31st March, 2024; (d) has its total income computed as per sub-section (3); and (e) fulfils all the conditions in section 205(2)
(b) 22% (without any deduction or allowance in respect of any expenditure or allowance) on income (i) which has neither been derived from nor is incidental to manufacturing or production of an article or thing, and (ii) in respect of which no specific rate of tax has been provided separately under Part C
(c) 22% on short-term capital gains derived from transfer of a capital asset on which no depreciation is allowable under the Act
(d) 30% on the income deemed so under section 205(4)

The Table is printed across two pages with its conditions column continuing after the page break; the conditions above are read together.

Section 204(2): exercising the option

The option is exercised in the prescribed manner, subject to:

  • (a) exercise on or before the due date under section 263(1) for furnishing the first of the returns of income for any tax year;
  • (b) once exercised, it applies to subsequent tax years;
  • (c) once exercised for any tax year, it is not subsequently withdrawn for the same or any other tax year; and
  • (d) if the society fails to fulfil the conditions in column B of the Table in any tax year, the option becomes invalid for that and subsequent tax years, and the other provisions of the Act apply as if the option had not been exercised.

A printing slip: clause (d) refers to the conditions by a serial number and column letter, but this Table has no serial numbers; the reference is to column B of the Table.

Section 204(3) to (5)

For the purposes of sub-section (1), total income is computed without any deduction under (i) Chapter VIII other than section 146 or 150 (the words "or 150" inserted by the Finance Act, 2026), or (ii) the sections specified in section 205(1)(a) to (g), and without set off of any loss carried forward or depreciation attributable to those deductions. The loss and depreciation so specified are deemed to have been given full effect, and no further deduction is allowed for any subsequent year (sub-section (4)). Sub-section (5), inserted by the Finance Act, 2026, modifies the requirements of sub-section (3) for a society that has exercised the option, so that the deduction under section 149(2)(d)(ii) is available up to the dividend distributed to its members at least one month before the due date under section 263(1).

A printing slip: after the reference to section 205(1)(a) to (g) in sub-section (3)(a)(ii) the copy shows a stray number "32"; it is not part of the text.

Comparing sections 203 and 204

PointSection 203Section 204
Whoa co-operative society resident in Indiaa resident co-operative society engaged in manufacture or production
Rate22% on total income15% on main income; 22% on two other kinds of income; 30% on income deemed under section 205(4)
Set up and registerednot statedon or after 1 April 2023
Manufacturing begannot statedon or before 31 March 2024
Extra conditionsnone beyond sub-section (1)section 205(2)

A worked example

Names and amounts are invented; the rates, dates and one-month rule are as printed.

Kamal Dairy Producers Co-operative Society, resident in India, opts under section 203 by the due date for its return. Its total income, computed without Chapter VIII deductions other than sections 146 and 150, is Rs. 15,00,000. Tax at 22% = Rs. 3,30,000 (before any surcharge or cess; those are not printed in this section).

If the society also received Rs. 2,00,000 of dividend from investments with another co-operative society and distributed Rs. 1,50,000 to its members at least one month before the return due date, the deduction under section 149(2)(d)(ii) is available up to Rs. 1,50,000 under section 203(7), the amount distributed.

Now take Triveni Grain Mills Co-operative Society, set up and registered on the 10th June, 2023, which began producing on the 1st February, 2024. It opts under section 204, so its total income from manufacturing is taxed at 15%; short-term capital gains on non-depreciable land at 22%; and any income deemed under section 205(4) at 30%.

Need help choosing a co-operative society regime?

The option is made once and cannot be withdrawn, and a failure of the conditions invalidates it from that year. Our tax planning advisory service can help a society compare the options before the first return.

Key takeaways

  • Section 203 offers 22% on total income to a resident co-operative society that gives up the listed deductions and loss set-offs.
  • Section 204 offers 15% on the main income of a new manufacturing co-operative society set up on or after 1 April 2023 that began production by 31 March 2024.
  • Both options are exercised by the section 263(1) due date and cannot be withdrawn.
  • The Finance Act, 2026 added section 150 to the permitted deductions and inserted the dividend modification (203(7) and 204(5)).
  • A failure of the conditions invalidates the option from that year onward.

Read next

Disclaimer: Based on the Income-tax Act, 2025 (30 of 2025) as amended by the Finance Act, 2026, as consulted on 2 October 2026. It explains the words of the Act only; the Income-tax Rules, 2026, notifications, circulars, later amendments and the way the tax authorities and courts apply these provisions should be checked. This article is general information, not legal advice; check the official text before acting.

Quick recapKey facts & short answers

Key Facts About Sections 203-204

  • Applies in: All states across India, under the relevant central law.
  • Mode: Mostly online via the official government portal.
  • Typical timeline: Ranges from a few days to a few weeks depending on the case.
  • Non-compliance: May attract penalties, interest or late fees.
  • Expert help: TaxClue completes the entire process end to end for you.

What is the rate under section 203?

22%, at the option of a co-operative society resident in India.

What is the main rate under section 204?

15% on total income other than the income in clauses (b), (c) and (d) of column A, for a resident co-operative society engaged in manufacture or production that fulfils the conditions.

File the return even in a loss year — a loss you do not report is a loss you cannot carry forward.

— TaxClue Direct Tax Desk

Sections 203-204: a key compliance topic in Indian tax and corporate law that businesses and individuals must understand to remain compliant.

Related Services & Guides

Was this article helpful?
About the author
13,350 articles
Vikas Sharma Verified expert Tax & Compliance Expert

Experienced in company registration, GST, trademark, and compliance. Helping Indian businesses stay compliant.

Last reviewed: Live

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute professional tax, legal or financial advice. Laws, rates and due dates change and can vary by individual case — always verify with the relevant government source (e.g. mca.gov.in, incometax.gov.in) or consult a qualified professional before acting. TaxClue accepts no liability for decisions taken based on this content.

People also ask

Questions, answered

Short, direct answers to the 6 questions readers ask most on this topic.

22%, at the option of a co-operative society resident in India.

15% on total income other than the income in clauses (b), (c) and (d) of column A, for a resident co-operative society engaged in manufacture or production that fulfils the conditions.

Set up and registered on or after the 1st April, 2023, and commenced manufacturing or production on or before the 31st March, 2024.

Under both sections, Chapter VIII deductions are not allowed except section 146 and section 150, and the deduction under section 149(2)(d)(ii) is available as modified.

No. Once exercised for any tax year it cannot be withdrawn for the same or any other tax year (sections 203(6) and 204(2)(c)).

It inserted "or 150" in the list of permitted deductions and inserted sub-sections (7) of section 203 and (5) of section 204, with effect from 1 April 2026.