Next due
30 OCTAOC-4 · Financial statements · FY 2025-26in 2 days 7 NOVTDS / TCS deposit · Deducted in Oct 2026in 10 days 11 NOVGSTR-1 · Outward supplies · Oct 2026in 14 days 15 NOVPF & ESI · Contributions · Oct 2026in 18 days 20 NOVGSTR-3B · Summary return · Oct 2026in 23 days 21 NOVITR filing · Audit cases · AY 2026-27 · extended from 31 Octin 24 days 29 NOVMGT-7 / 7A · Annual return · FY 2025-26in 32 days 15 DECAdvance Tax · 3rd (75%) instalment · FY 2026-27in 48 days
All due dates

Clause 31(a) of Form 3CD — Loans and Deposits Under Section 269SS

Clause 31(a) reports each loan or deposit taken or accepted above the section 269SS limit of Rs 20,000, with six particulars per lender including the Note 1 code — and journal...

Published
Updated
Reading time
9 min
Questions
6 answered
  • High Complexity
  • In-Depth Guide
Topic
Income Tax
Published
September 8, 2026
Last updated
Sep 8, 2026
Reading time
9 min
0:00
Last updated: September 2026Verified against: Government sources
Which year this governs

From the ICAI Guidance Note on Tax Audit (Revised 2026), the Eleventh and, by ICAI's own statement, concluding edition under the Income-tax Act, 1961. For tax years under the Income-tax Act, 2025 the corresponding provisions must be identified afresh, and the particulars move to Form No. 26 under rule 47 of the Income-tax Rules, 2026.

The threshold clause 31 tests — three ways to reach it

Paragraph 55.1: section 269SS prohibits taking or accepting any loan, deposit or specified sum otherwise than by an account payee cheque, account payee bank draft, use of the electronic clearing system through a bank account, or such other electronic mode as may be prescribed — collectively the approved banking channels — if:

  • (a) the amount of such loan, deposit or specified sum, or the aggregate of them; or
  • (b) on the date of taking or accepting it, any earlier loan, deposit or specified sum from the same depositor remaining unpaid — whether repayment has fallen due or not — the amount or aggregate remaining unpaid; or
  • (c) the amount at (a) together with the amount at (b),

is Rs 20,000 or more.

The exception: for a deposit accepted by, or a loan taken from, a Primary Agricultural Credit Society or a Primary Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank from or by its members, a higher limit of Rs 2 lakh applies.

The other electronic modes were prescribed by Rule 6ABBA, notified by Notification No. 8/2020/F. No. 370142/14/2019-TPL dated 29 January 2020, with effect from 1 September 2019: credit card, debit card, net banking, IMPS, UPI, RTGS, NEFT and BHIM Aadhaar Pay.

The unpaid-balance limb catches small fresh loans

Limb (b) tests the outstanding balance from the same person, not the new receipt. Paragraph 55.8 spells out the consequence: if the total from a person is Rs 20,000 or more but each individual item is less than Rs 20,000, the information is still required in respect of all such entries — starting from the entry at which the balance reaches Rs 20,000 or more and continuing until the balance goes below Rs 20,000. So clause 31 requires a running-balance test per person, not a per-transaction test.

Who is outside section 269SS

Paragraph 55.2: the first proviso excludes loans or deposits taken from, or accepted by, the Government; any banking company, post office savings bank or co-operative bank; any corporation established by a Central, State or Provincial Act; any Government company under section 2(45) of the Companies Act, 2013; and any other notified institution, association or body.

And a reporting exclusion of a different kind, from paragraph 55.3: particulars at (a) and (b) need not be given in the case of a Government company, a banking company or a corporation established by a Central, State or Provincial Act — that is, where the assessee itself is one of those.

Paragraph 55.5(x) closes an opening that is often assumed: co-operative societies — including credit co-operative societies and housing societies — are not exempt from sections 269SS and 269T unless they qualify as "co-operative banks" under the Banking Regulation Act, 1949 and hold a valid licence from the Reserve Bank of India. Their cash or journal-entry acceptances above the threshold are reportable.

The nine situations paragraph 55.5 resolves

SituationTreatment
Sale proceeds collected by a selling agentNot a loan or deposit
Mixed accountSegregate the loan and deposit transactions from the other transactions, and report the former
Opening credit balance of a loan taken in earlier yearsNot specifically required to be disclosed — but the opening balances must be taken into consideration when giving the maximum amount outstanding, and when reporting acceptance and repayment
Interest-free loansReportable — the information must still be given
Security deposits against contractsCovered by the definition of "deposit" — reportable. But an amount retained by the contractee against performance is not, because the amount is not received
Transfer entries or journal entriesConstitute acceptance otherwise than by account payee cheque — reportable. But entries with a supplier or customer on account of purchase or sale of goods or services are not loans or deposits
Interest accrued and credited to a deposit or loan accountNot required to be reported
Share application money supported by appropriate documentationNeither deposit nor loan; subsequent allotment or repayment as part of the allotment process does not alter its character, so sections 269SS and 269T are not attracted — Rugmini Ram Ragav Spinners P. Ltd. 304 ITR 417 (Mad), IP India P. Ltd. 343 ITR 353 and Numero Uno Financial Services P. Ltd. 345 ITR 84 (Del). A contrary view is in Bhalotia Engineering Works (P) Ltd. 275 ITR 399
Co-operative societies without an RBI licenceNot exempt — reportable

The Guidance Note also directs attention to CIT v. Idhayam Publications Ltd. (2006) 285 ITR 221 (Madras).

The six particulars clause 31(a) requires

Paragraph 55.6: clause 31(a) requires six specific particulars in respect of each loan or deposit:

  1. Name, address and PAN or Aadhaar number of the lender or depositor, if available with the assessee;
  2. Amount of each loan or deposit taken or accepted, and the code of the nature of such amount as given in Note 1, from a dropdown;
  3. whether the loan or deposit was squared up during the previous year;
  4. the maximum amount outstanding in the account at any time during the previous year;
  5. whether it was taken or accepted by cheque, bank draft or use of the electronic clearing system through a bank account; and
  6. where by cheque or draft, whether it was an account payee cheque or an account payee bank draft.

Paragraph 55.7: the auditor should obtain these details from the assessee for each reportable loan or deposit and verify that the amount reported is as per the records and evidence available. Paragraph 55.10: he should obtain and verify the code-wise details of each receipt.

Where verification runs out — the suggested comment

Paragraph 55.9: there will be practical difficulties in verifying whether a loan or deposit was taken by account payee cheque or draft. The auditor should verify against such evidence as may be available, and in the absence of satisfactory evidence should make a suggested comment in his report:

"It is not possible for me/us to verify whether loans or deposits have been taken or accepted otherwise than by an account payee cheque or account payee bank draft, as the necessary evidence is not in the possession of the assessee".

The TAQRB observations on clause 31(a)

"Loan details were reported on a consolidated basis without mentioning the names of the respective lenders. Observations/qualifications in Form 3CA/3CB were reproduced from the Guidance Note without appropriate modification to suit the audit report." The second finding is a caution about the suggested comment above: it is a template, and copying it unaltered into a report where the evidence position is different is itself a defect in the clause 31 reporting.

The clause 31(a) working paper

Paragraph 55.11 recommends, in the utility's format: name of the lender or depositor · address · PAN or Aadhaar, if available · amount taken or accepted · code of the nature of the amount per Note 1 · whether squared up during the year · maximum amount outstanding at any time during the year · whether taken otherwise than by account payee cheque or draft.

Worked example

TransactionClause 31(a)
Rs 3,00,000 loan received by RTGSReport — the clause asks for particulars of each loan above the limit, with the mode stated
Four cash receipts of Rs 6,000 each from one person, balance reaching Rs 24,000Report every entry from the point the balance reached Rs 20,000 until it fell below
Loan of Rs 50,000 created by a journal entry against a purchase ledger balanceReport, with the Journal Entry code from Note 1
Trade payable settled by a journal entry with a supplierNot a loan or deposit
Interest-free loan from a directorReport
Interest credited to a deposit account during the yearNot reported
Security deposit received from a contractorReport — within "deposit"
Share application money with documentation, later allottedNot reported, on the Madras and Delhi High Court view

Audit checklist

  • Run a running-balance test per person, not a per-transaction test.
  • Include the unpaid earlier balance limb in the threshold computation.
  • Take opening balances into account for the maximum outstanding column.
  • Include journal entries, transfer entries, interest-free loans and security deposits.
  • Exclude interest credited, supplier and customer trade entries, retention money, and documented share application money.
  • Apply the Rs 2 lakh limit only to PACS and PCARD member transactions.
  • Check whether a co-operative society holds an RBI licence as a co-operative bank before treating it as exempt.
  • Report the Note 1 code against each transaction and give name, address and PAN for every lender.
  • Where the account payee position cannot be verified, use the suggested comment adapted to the facts.

Common mistakes

  • Reporting on a consolidated basis without lender names — the TAQRB finding.
  • Testing each receipt against Rs 20,000 instead of the running balance.
  • Omitting journal-entry loans because no money moved.
  • Treating a co-operative society as exempt without an RBI licence.
  • Copying the suggested comment verbatim where the evidence position differs.
Quick recapKey facts & short answers

Key Facts About Clause 31

  • Applies in: All states across India, under the relevant central law.
  • Mode: Mostly online via the official government portal.
  • Typical timeline: Ranges from a few days to a few weeks depending on the case.
  • Non-compliance: May attract penalties, interest or late fees.
  • Expert help: TaxClue completes the entire process end to end for you.

What is the section 269SS threshold?

Rs 20,000 or more, tested on the amount of the loan, deposit or specified sum; or on any earlier such amount from the same person remaining unpaid on the date of taking the new one; or on the two aggregated.

Is there a higher limit for co-operative credit bodies?

Yes. For a deposit accepted by, or a loan taken from, a Primary Agricultural Credit Society or a Primary Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank from or by its members, a higher limit of Rs 2 lakh applies.

Tax deducted at source is somebody else's money in your hands; deposit it on time.

— TaxClue Direct Tax Desk

Clause 31: a key compliance topic in Indian tax and corporate law that businesses and individuals must understand to remain compliant.

Related Services & Guides

Was this article helpful?
About the author
Vikas Sharma Tax & Compliance Expert at TaxClue

Experienced in company registration, GST, trademark, and compliance. Helping Indian businesses stay compliant.

Updated:

Disclaimer: This article is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute professional tax, legal or financial advice. Laws, rates and due dates change and can vary by individual case — always verify with the relevant government source (e.g. mca.gov.in, incometax.gov.in) or consult a qualified professional before acting. TaxClue accepts no liability for decisions taken based on this content.

People also ask

Questions, answered

Short, direct answers to the 6 questions readers ask most on this topic.

Rs 20,000 or more, tested on the amount of the loan, deposit or specified sum; or on any earlier such amount from the same person remaining unpaid on the date of taking the new one; or on the two aggregated.

Yes. For a deposit accepted by, or a loan taken from, a Primary Agricultural Credit Society or a Primary Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank from or by its members, a higher limit of Rs 2 lakh applies.

Yes. Loans and deposits taken or accepted by means of transfer entries or journal entries constitute acceptance otherwise than by account payee cheque, and Note 1 includes a code for "Journal Entry".

Yes. Even if the loans are taken free of interest, the information will still have to be given.

Share application money advance supported by appropriate documentation is neither a deposit nor a loan, and subsequent allotment or repayment as part of the allotment process does not alter its character, so sections 269SS and 269T are not attracted — though a contrary view exists in Bhalotia Engineering Works.

No, unless they qualify as co-operative banks under the Banking Regulation Act, 1949 and hold a valid RBI licence. Otherwise their cash or journal-entry acceptances and repayments above the threshold are reportable.