Skip to main content
Tuesday, 6 October 2026
TaxClue News

SEBI Board approves Portfolio Managers Regulations, 2026: IPO investing, a ₹25 lakh mutual fund route (PRIM) and Independent Fund Managers

The SEBI Board has approved the SEBI (Portfolio Managers) Regulations, 2026 to supersede the 2020 Regulations. Portfolio managers will be able to invest client money in IPOs, foreign securities and direct plans of mutual funds through a new PRIM route, and work with Independent Fund Managers. Graduates become eligible as Principal Officer, and the rulebook shrinks from 70 pages to 33.

Key facts

In force
Approved by the SEBI Board on 24 September 2026; commencement date not stated in the release
Who it affects
SEBI-registered portfolio managers, PMS clients, mutual fund distributors, prospective PRIM applicants, fund managers working with portfolio managers
What it is
New facility
Section
SEBI
Published
24 September 2026
Editor24 September 2026 · updated 5 Oct · 4 min read

In 30 seconds

  • Approved at the Board meeting of 24 September 2026 (PR No. 59/2026); the release does not give a commencement date.
  • Investment in IPOs and in primary market issuance in the debt market is to be permitted.
  • Up to 10% of client AUM may go into investment-grade, non-convertible, unlisted debt securities under discretionary PMS, with client consent.
  • Exchange traded derivatives: flexibility up to 1.25 times the client’s AUM.
  • PRIM: minimum ticket size ₹25 lakh; a PRIM-only registration needs net worth of ₹2 crore; fixed fee capped at 1% of the client’s AUM.
  • Independent Fund Managers will operate under a registered portfolio manager, who carries full responsibility and liability.

A replacement, not an amendment

At its meeting on 24 September 2026 the SEBI Board approved the proposal to introduce the SEBI (Portfolio Managers) Regulations, 2026 in supersession of the SEBI (Portfolio Managers) Regulations, 2020. The stated objectives are development of the Portfolio Management Services (PMS) industry, ease of compliance, consolidation and simpler language, and removal of redundant provisions.

Where client money may now go

  • IPOs, and primary market issuance in the debt market.
  • Investment-grade, non-convertible, unlisted debt securities — up to 10% of client Asset Under Management (AUM) under Discretionary PMS, with client consent.
  • Exchange traded derivatives, up to 1.25 times the client’s AUM.
  • Foreign securities under both Discretionary and Non-Discretionary PMS: listed equity, debt, REITs, overseas mutual funds, ETFs, index funds and foreign government debt, governed under the Foreign Exchange Management Act, 1999 and RBI’s Liberalized Remittance Scheme.

Eligible Fund Managers are permitted to manage and advise investment of an eligible investment fund in overseas securities. Where such a fund invests in Indian securities, the investment limit stays aligned with the prevailing FPI framework.

PRIM: the mutual fund route

The Portfolio Managers Route for Investing in Mutual Fund units (PRIM) lets a portfolio manager invest clients’ funds in direct plans of mutual funds, including ETFs, index funds and Specialized Investment Funds of Indian asset management companies. An existing portfolio manager can offer it as a separate investment approach with a minimum ticket size of ₹25 lakh. An applicant that will operate only within PRIM securities may take a new registration on these terms:

PointPRIM registration
Minimum ticket size₹25 lakh
Net worth₹2 crore
Principal OfficerGraduation / CFA / CA with two years of securities market experience and a simplified NISM certification
Exit load provisionsWaived
Affiliated, group or associate AMC schemesPrudential cap of 25% on investments
FeesFixed management fee capped at 1% of the client’s AUM; a performance based fee model is also permitted
Mutual Fund Distributor businessActivities and clients segregated between MFD and PRIM, except for accredited investors

Independent Fund Managers

An Independent Fund Manager (IFM) will manage client portfolios in association with a registered portfolio manager. The safeguards listed in the release:

  • the registered portfolio manager has full responsibility and liability for all activities of the IFM;
  • an IFM needs the same qualifications, experience and certifications as a Principal Officer;
  • fees are paid directly to the registered portfolio manager, and IFM orders flow through the portfolio manager’s infrastructure;
  • a portfolio manager may affiliate with several IFMs, but an IFM can work under only one at a time;
  • clients get a mandatory exit option if an IFM leaves or is terminated;
  • APMI will maintain a central database of active IFMs.

Compliance made lighter

  • A graduate will be eligible to be Principal Officer.
  • Dealing room requirement relaxed for portfolio managers with AUM below ₹100 crore — 48% of those registered, by SEBI’s count.
  • A standardized Investment Management Agreement, with authority to operate the demat and trading account built in. The Power of Attorney for the bank account, as mandated by RBI, continues.
  • Harmonized reporting timelines and a digital disclosure document.
  • Statutory levies kept out of the operating expenses limit of 0.5% a year.

The regulations fall from 70 pages to 33, and from 19,486 words to 11,308. Provisos drop from 47 to 4.

What portfolio managers should do

The draft went out for public comment with a consultation paper on 23 July 2026, and the Board has now approved it. The release gives no date of notification, so agreements, fee structures and investment approaches should be reworked against the notified text.

Questions and answers

Can a portfolio manager invest client money in IPOs?

The SEBI Board has approved new Portfolio Managers Regulations, 2026 under which investment in IPOs and in primary market issuance in the debt market is permitted. The press release does not state the date from which the new regulations apply.

What is PRIM?

The Portfolio Managers Route for Investing in Mutual Fund units. It lets portfolio managers invest clients’ funds in direct plans of mutual funds, including ETFs, index funds and Specialized Investment Funds of Indian AMCs. The minimum ticket size is ₹25 lakh.

What does a PRIM-only registration require?

Net worth of ₹2 crore; a Principal Officer who is a graduate, CFA or CA with two years of securities market experience and a simplified NISM certification; a 25% cap on investments in schemes of affiliated, group or associate AMCs; and a fixed management fee of not more than 1% of the client’s AUM.

Who is an Independent Fund Manager?

A person who will manage and operate client portfolios in association with a registered portfolio manager. The registered portfolio manager carries full responsibility and liability, receives the fees directly, and routes the IFM’s orders through its own infrastructure. An IFM can operate under only one portfolio manager at a time.

Who can be a Principal Officer under the new framework?

The educational qualification has been relaxed: the release says even a graduate will be eligible to function as Principal Officer.

SourceSEBI Press Release PR No. 59/2026 dated 24 September 2026
Open the original ↗
Share this story
Send on WhatsApp

Published 24 September 2026. Updated 5 October 2026. This report is for general information and is not professional advice. Read the source document before acting on it.

Share

The morning brief

One email each working morning with the day’s tax, GST and company-law news. It is starting soon; leave your address and it comes to you from day one.